In a collaborative venture with the major Central Auckland art institutions, this Eden Arts initiative presents the very best student works from each of Elam, Unitec, AUT and Whitecliffe in a single exhibition, awarding a cash prize to the overall winners.

For Eden Arts, this award (launched in 2011) is an extension of our longstanding annual Young Artists Awards while also expanding the geographical area in which we can help to promote and support young artists.


The award is open to full-time undergraduates. Five student entries are selected from each school and judged by independent judges appointed by Eden Arts. The total prize pool offered by Eden Arts is over $8000, consisting of three Joint Winner awards of $2500 each and an additional Board's Choice award of $750.

Since 2019 the event has been generously hosted by Webb's Auction House in Mt Eden. The award was originally hosted in rotation by the art schools, with Elam as the oldest hosting the inaugural award in July 2011 followed in order by Unitec, Whitecliffe and AUT. Following the completion of the first two four-year cycles the award moved to Webb's in Mt Eden. Also in 2019 the event was expanded beyond the original Central Auckland geographic area to include students from Manukau Institute of Technology.

Full registration details and rules of entry are available from the individual art schools or contact Cathy Manning from the Eden Arts Board at


The 2023 award took place over Labour Weekend at Webb's Mt Eden. Twenty finalists from the Auckland art schools presented work in a group exhibition at Webb's gallery which was open for viewing from Saturday 21 to Monday 23 October. The show was curated by Eden Arts with assistance from artist Brendon Leung, a past finalist in this award. There was no restriction on medium or materials used, but all entries had to measure no more than 2.5 metres in any direction. At the awards ceremony on Friday 20 October, four students were offered cash prizes worth in excess of $8000. The judges were AD Schierning, director of Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery, and performance artist Kalisolaite 'Uhila. Unfortunately our third judge, artist Krystie Wade, was unable to join us, having tested positive for Covid-19. A very insightful artist talk/ floor walk was held on Monday 23 October at 1pm, giving students an opportunity to present and gain insights into their work. 

Congratulations to all 20 students on being selected by their school for the 2023 Eden Arts Award.

The following students received awards from judges AD Schierning and Kalisolaite 'Uhila -

L to R   AD Schierning, Martino Michael, Elvira Trowbridge, Nikita Hesketh, Damen Dooms, Kalisolaite 'Uhila



Congratulations to last year's finalists on being chosen to represent their art school.

Three students were awarded Highly Commended prizes of $2500 each:

A further two students were given Board's Choice awards, based on the judges' recommendations, of $750 each:


L to R Lucia Nicolson, Natalie Cooper, Niamh Maher, Dar'ya Starykova, Tonina Ngātai

Gallery 2022


Congratulations to all twenty finalists who took part in the award and exhibition. The 2021 event was rescheduled from August 2021 (a time of lockdown) and took place in February 2022, with judges Francis McWhannell and Judy Darragh.

Four students were awarded Highly Commended prizes of $2000 each -

A further three students were awarded the discretionary Board's Choice award of $500 each -

L to R Charlie Stringer, Ziggy Bond, Warisara Thomson, Jude, Hollie Teutscher, Nicola Fraser